Went to the river to take pics of a beautiful woman and all i got was Poison Ivy!

About a week ago i took off to the Haw River just out side Pittsboro.  Took my friend, the Lovely Kelsey to take some pics and do a bit of chillin down by the water.  The weather was better than perfect.  It was a bit hot and muggy at first, but after being in the water it turned out great.

After getting to one of my favorite location at this park, Kelsey noticed a gigantic tree up on some bolders in the middle of the river.  Naturally we had to shoot on the tree.  We saved it till last because he had to cross the river.  That morning i had the though of bringing my Pelican case with me.  My “Sound, Just woken up” Logic decided against it.  So towards the end of the shoot i end up swimming across part of the river with my camera held high over my head praying to the camera gods, that i do not sink or get knocked to were my camera gets dunked.

for most anything i keep my kit simple, i really hate being in the situation to were i have to second guess my gear, or not have confidence in it.  So that applied to this day too.  it seems that i am quite happy with my Vivitar 285’s Phottix Strato RF wireless triggers, my Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 and my Nikon D7000.  I really would have loved to have the Wescott Apollo’s with me but i was too lazy to carry any more gear.

here is the link to the Apollos.  My opinion is they are the best “Softbox” for Speed lights.

http://www.fjwestcott.com/products/product.cfm?itemnum=2334&tbl=products&head=haloapollo

the 28″ is cool and works so well, but the 50″ is were it is at.
So below are just a hand full of the great pics Kelsey and I made together during our fun trip to the Haw River!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

